As if shrouded in the mists of time, the Gut Bridge stands as a memorial to the hard work, and pioneering spirit of Stephenville Crossing's early settlers.
The original bridging of the Gut area was done in 1896, to accommodate the expansion of the railway, from Port aux Basques to St. John's. The bridge, which was constructed of wood, was washed out and had to be rebuilt in 1898.
The lift bridge, a marvel of engineering in its time, was built to open, to allow for the passage of ships. The lift was last used in 1901.
Many residents in Stephenville Crossing, as well as St. Georges, have fond memories of their trips across the bridge. The structure seemed massive to children, who always loved the sound the tires made as they passed over the sheeting of the bridge.
For the residents of Stephenville Crossing the Gut Bridge was the only means they had to travel to areas West of the community, other than by boat, and for that reason it is looked upon fondly. The bridge stands as a reminder to the residents of a more prosperous time, when Stephenville Crossing was a hub of railway industry on the West Coast. The building of the railway and the subsequent work it provided helped the town to expand into the community it is today.
It is hoped that future generations will care for the bridge, to ensure that it stays in good repair and that tourists will have the opportunity to continue to visit this part of Stephenville Crossing's history.
Our community album section has more